Hot on the tail of Power’s community ‘working art’ in St Mary’s he is furthering the Love Letter Project in upstate New York this time.

This text was taken from a letter to the commission and beautifully sums up Power’s process:


Once sign painting as a trade became extinct, it became interesting to me as a medium for art. I learned to paint signs as they had been painted for generations, but instead of the commercial concerns of most signage I used the letters and colors to talk about love and life. The font I employ was prized by sign painters because it is clear and versatile, qualities that serve me well when I am talking about complex things like love. Beyond that, my use of the sign painters craft is about the importance of the hands, heart and head being present in the work I make. The work we are calling on to renew the West side must possess the same qualities.




